A&K Dragunov SVD Questions.

Discussion about sniper rifles or bolt-action.

A&K Dragunov SVD Questions.

Postby Geoffrey » Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:56 pm

Good afternoon everyone,

I am brand new to this sport, I used to paintball, but I enjoy the aspects of Airsoft more now that I am older.
I have watched a ton of reviews, youtube testing videos, and written reviews/forums on the SVD.

I found this: http://www.amazon.com/Dragunov-SVD-Airs ... roduct_top
It is only 80 bucks and from the description and reviews, I cannot see any difference from the other stock SVDs that are on the market.
When I buy it I would clean it (I hear it comes dry and needs to be cleaned/lubricated), replace the AEG spring with an 150-170 spring (I hear it increases range/power/accuracy), and buy some high quality ammunition (28 and higher?).

My questions after the above information has be stated:

1) Is the gun I provided in the link essentially the same as the other SVDs on the market? If not, please explain the differences with links if possible.

2) Can the Spring Guide in the rifle provided in the link withstand a 150-170 Spring? If not, can it be upgraded or is the stock spring sufficient?

3) Are the iron sights on this gun sufficient enough for 50-125 ft range?

(More information)
I plan on using this rifle as a scout sniper/reconnaissance. I am not sure if I will be getting a scope yet as I only plan on using this within a 150 ft range, I don't want to be blind sighted by staring through a scope. I might consider getting a reflex or holo sight though.
4) For owners or individuals who have had experience with this gun, what are your thoughts/ opinions in regards to my intention of using it for scouting/ reconnaissance?

5) If I am to use this weapon as a primary, what would be a secondary option? (Most fields frown on using this if target is within 50 ft) Shotgun? Pistol? Small SMG?