Cheap M16 Velocity Reduction

Discuss your own custom works and projects here.

Cheap M16 Velocity Reduction

Postby Switchback » Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:22 pm

I have an M16 that shoots kind of hot for playing CQB (this isn't practical, M16 indoors and all that its just a thought) and even a little sinister for outdoor. I also happen to have a spare stock barrel lying around and thought:

Well, a tightbore increases velocity (I know it increases accuracy too) by putting more air BEHIND the BB.
If I take air pressure from behind the BB, then it will reduce the velocity, allowing me to play indoors/not be the guy who punches wholes in people.
I take my extremely small drill bit and drill holes in my spare stock barrel near the hop up unit and all the way down the barrel. I, not being a noob, I would use a small drill bit and take it slow, producing clean holes without too much excess metal hanging into the barrel. Still, basking in not-noobishness, I clean the barrel and install it in place of my hypothetical TBB. Air wooshes out of the holes when I pull the trigger, sending a less vicious piece of 6mm plastic on its merry little way.
This could be handy for those who bought an Echo1, JG, CA, etc., and upgraded their barrel to play outdoors, pushing their FPS up into the 380's. Its a cool way to get indoors with the same gun without changing uppers or spending time/money to downgrade. I'll post pictures after I finish mine.
"I have the cutest dog."
Switchback

Team: N/A

Postby Sahronax » Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:28 pm

Alternatively, you could just downgrade your spring...
Although this is an interesting concept, what size drill bit did you use?
Sahronax
Soldier
Soldier

Postby dom186 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:42 pm

Check thus out. I didn't read your entire post so I don't know if you mentioned it already.

http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/pro-arms-muzzle-velocity-reduction-adaptor-14mm-cw.html
dom186
Soldier
Soldier

Postby dom186 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:51 pm